According to statistics, more than 1,720 drivers are involved in a car accident in Georgia every single day. On average, that’s 70 drivers an hour. All these car accidents result in more than 600,000 injuries each year. But how does Georgia’s car insurance system work? If you’ve sustained injuries in a car accident, please read on and contact an experienced Atlanta car accident lawyer to fight for you and your future.
How does Georgia’s car insurance system work?
Georgia is an at-fault state. This means that the person at fault for a crash must compensate the other person for any resulting injuries or property damage. You will need to prove that the other driver or another party was responsible for your injuries. In order to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Georgia, drivers must possess the following liability insurance amounts: $25,000 for the injury or death of one person, i.e. a passenger, another driver, motorcyclist or pedestrian, $50,000 for total injuries or death of more than one person in a single accident you cause and $25,000 for property damage resulting from an accident you cause.
Who is at fault and how is it determined under Georgia’s car insurance system?
The Peach State does not operate under an “all or nothing” model. A jury considers and compares the responsibility of all drivers involved in rendering a verdict as to who bears fault. In other words, the jury can find more than one person, including you the victim, negligent in an auto collision. Among other factors, the percentage of fault is based on to what extent each driver violates traffic laws, i.e. running a red light, talking on a cell phone or eating while driving. To help prove the other driver was at fault, you should obtain the following:
- Photographs of damage, injuries and the site of the crash
- The contact information of any and all witnesses
- Copies of your medical records
- A copy of the police report from the responding officer
What is modified comparative negligence?
Under this rule, a jury can find more than one party shares blame for an accident. The at-fault driver is liable only in proportion to their percentage of fault unless the injured person’s negligence rises to fifty percent or more. When an injury victim has half or more of the responsibility for an accident, he or she cannot recover damages. All this might sound complex and intimidating, so contact a skilled Atlanta injury lawyer to discuss how we can help you.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Jones & Jones has helped hundreds of clients throughout the years. Our legal team handles injury and criminal matters in Georgia. Whether you need an Atlanta personal injury lawyer or a fierce criminal defense attorney, we are equipped to protect your rights. Contact The Jones & Jones Law Group today.