As a result of another person’s negligence, you have sustained injuries. If you need assistance in seeking damages, please read on, then contact an experienced Atlanta injury lawyer to learn why you need to listen to your doctor after an injury in Georgia.
The importance of listening to your doctor after an injury in Georgia
Listening to the advice of a medical professional can lead to the best possible recovery. When you see a doctor, it records the accident and injuries, doctor’s notes and general medical records. These documents can be used later on in court to back up your personal injury claim. Compliance with medical advice protects you and the doctor. But not communicating with a doctor, or failing to do what the doctor tells you to do, can have dangerous ramifications for your health and your case.
When should you visit a doctor in Georgia?
After getting into an accident, you would be wise to visit a doctor within 72 hours to have your accident-related injuries assessed by a medical professional. Even if you do not believe you have sustained serious injuries and do not need urgent care, you will find it worthwhile to schedule a consultation. Georgia law requires injured workers to notify their employer within 30 days of the date of injury. Some employers may mislead workers by telling them they have less than 30 days to file a report. However, early treatment will strengthen your personal injury claim.
Do you need an Atlanta personal injury attorney to help you?
Legally speaking, no, you do not need an Atlanta personal injury attorney to help you in your case. However, a qualified legal representative has the following benefits:
- A personal injury attorney knows how to handle your claim
- He or she can offer you a more realistic perspective
- A personal injury attorney will help you save time and money
- He or she has excellent negotiation skills
- They can lay out your options and assess each one’s viability
- A personal injury attorney can help you with litigation
Given the amount of time and money at stake, we would advise you to reach out to a skilled lawyer. In Georgia, the statute of limitations for civil cases such as car accidents, wrongful death and other personal injury claims is typically 2 years from the date of the injury or death. You must file a claim with the court by the statute of limitations date or your case is forever void. These cases can languish; do not let yours be one of them.
CONTACT OUR FIRM
Jones & Jones has helped hundreds of clients throughout the years. Our legal team handles injury and criminal matters in Georgia. Whether you need an Atlanta personal injury lawyer or a fierce criminal defense attorney, we are equipped to protect your rights. Contact The Jones & Jones Law Group today.